Well, on my planet, there’s a legend about people like you. It’s called Footloose. And in it, a great hero, named Kevin Bacon, teaches an entire city full of people with sticks up their butts that dancing, well, it’s the greatest thing there is.

(via thecuckooclock)


moarrrmagazine:

Light it up, photography by Shen Chao-Liang


Annie: “Anthonio” [Berlin Breakdown Version] (from ‘The Guest’). 

Incredible. 


My Musical Mind (16/09/14)

feat. music from Jessie Ware, Jhené Aiko, Kimbra, BANKS, Prince, Tinashe, TV on the Radio, Flying Lotus, Stars, HAERTS and loads more.

Plus listen to commentary/clips of 5 of my favourite songs of the fortnight* in the latest Black Diesel Radio mini-edition.

Welcome to my musical mind. Where fifties swing meets noughties electronica. Where blues, rock, latin, funk, hip-hop, pop, country, jazz and southern fried soul will all be given a workout. Eclectic is the watch word. Embrace the chaos kids.


Ambrosia Parsley - Nightingale https://soundcloud.com/ambrosia-parsley-official/nightingale/s-x4SxY
BANKS - Stick http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BeRW-U5bP_8
Becky Hill - Losing http://www.popjustice.com/songs/becky-hill-losing/
Bianca - Step It Up http://www.popjustice.com/songs/bianca-step-it-up/
Boots - Mercy http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/new-boots-mercy
Caroline Glaser - Dream of You http://www.starpulse.com/news/Brittany_S_Frederick/2014/08/11/exclusive_song_premiere_from_the_voice
Childish Gambino - Sober http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/new-childish-gambino-sober
Dominique Young Unique - Carmel Deluxe* http://moarrr.com/post/97051985235
Ex Cops feat. Ariel Pink - Tragically Alright http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-ex-cops-tragically-alright-feat-ariel-pink
Flying Lotus feat. Kendrick Lamar - Never Catch Me http://prettymuchamazing.com/favorite-songs/new-flying-lotus-kendrick-lamar-never-catch
HAERTS - Giving Up http://prettymuchamazing.com/mp3/mp3-haerts-giving
How To Dress Well - Repeat Pleasure (A.G. Cook Remix) http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-dress-well-repeat-pleasure-g-cook-remix
iamamiwhoami - Blue Blue http://moarrr.com/post/96706062300
Jessie Ware feat. Blood Orange - Want Your Feeling* http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/jessie-ware-orange-blood-want-your-feeling
Jhené Aiko - Eternal Sunshine* http://youtu.be/zLha43Tqc9M
Kimbra - Teen Heat* https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lHGRNUVqmas
Kindness - This Is Not About Us http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-kindness-us
Kleerup feat. Susanne Sundfør - Let Me In http://www.popjustice.com/songs/kleerup-feat-susanne-sundfor-let-me-in/
La Roux - Kiss and Not Tell http://moarrr.com/post/96962187134
Mr. Twin Sister - In the House of Yes http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-mr-twin-sister-house-yes
Octave Minds feat. Chance The Rapper & The Social Experiment - Tap Dance* http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-octave-minds-tap-dance-f-chance-rapper
Prince & 3rd Eye Girl - Whitecaps http://prettymuchamazing.com/news/hear-two-new-songs-prince
Robyn - Tell You (Today) [Arthur Russell cover] http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/new-robyn-tell-today-arthur-russell-cover
SBTRKT feat. Raury - Higher http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/new-sbtrkt-higher-feat-raury
Stars - Turn It Up http://prettymuchamazing.com/mp3/stars-turn-it-up
Své - Riot http://www.popjustice.com/videos/sve-riot/130526/
TIANN - Oh My http://www.popjustice.com/songs/tiaan-oh-my/
Tinashe - Feels Like Vegas http://www.rap-up.com/2014/09/15/new-music-tinashe-feels-like-vegas/
Tory Lanez - Henny In Hand http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/check-tory-lanez-henny-hand
Tove Lo - Timebomb http://www.popjustice.com/thenews/theres-a-new-tove-lo-song-called-timebomb-on-the-internet-and-its-amazing/130657/
TV on the Radio - Happy Idiot http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-tv-radio-happy-idiot

Other songs I blogged in the last two weeks

Tinashe feat. A$AP Rocky - Pretend http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/96485609924/tinashe-feat-a-ap-rocky-pretend-i-love-this
Emile Haynie feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Devonté Hynes and Sampha - A Kiss Goodbye http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/96823744274/emile-haynie-feat-charlotte-gainsbourg-devonte
Cassie Steele - Games http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/96896440799/cassie-steele-games-sinister-sexy-superb
The Tee-Tones - Problem (Vintage ‘50s Doo-Wop Ariana Grande Cover) http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/97170500229/turhansbeycompany-problem-vintage-50s
BANKS - Under the Table http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/97598313304/banks-under-the-table-exquisite-piano

Cheers,
Andrew

Follow me on Twitter @blackdieseluk.

If you missed the last edition, click here.


Black Diesel Radio mini-edition 37 (Season Three Finale).

My highlights of the last fortnight in music.

Huge thanks to everyone that’s listened to the show this season.

As usual, you can find links to full-length versions of each song in the latest ‘My Musical Mind’ blog.

[Running time - 10:42]

Follow me on Twitter @blackdieseluk.

Previous Edition


BANKS: “Under the Table”. 

Exquisite piano ballad. Completely lovely. 


VERTIGO (1958) dir. Alfred Hitchcock.

(via kiss-your-nerves-goodbye)


'Girlhood' trailer. 

One of the films I’m most looking forward to at this year’s LFF. 

Via First Showing


Lost In Translation (2003)

(via thecuckooclock)


turhansbeycompany:

Problem - Vintage ’50s Doo-Wop Ariana Grande Cover ft. The Tee-Tones

I do so love when Postmodern Jukebox brings in the Tee Tones.

(via dirtyriver)