theartofnotwriting:

Pascalle
our ends are beginnings

(Sometimes I just reblog all the awesome things Beth Revis finds.)

(via dirtyriver)


Nao vs. A. K. Paul: “So Good”. 

One of the coolest songs I’ve heard in ages. 


My Musical Mind (20/08/14)

feat. music from Charli XCX, Ariana Grande, Goldfrapp, Jessie Ware, DJ Shadow, Ella Eyre, Stars, Kindness, Tinashe, Mr Twin Sister and loads more.

Plus listen to commentary/clips of 5 of my favourite songs of the fortnight* in the latest Black Diesel Radio mini-edition.

Welcome to my musical mind. Where fifties swing meets noughties electronica. Where blues, rock, latin, funk, hip-hop, pop, country, jazz and southern fried soul will all be given a workout. Eclectic is the watch word. Embrace the chaos kids.


Ariana Grande feat. Big Sean - Best Mistake* http://www.popjustice.com/thenews/ariana-grandes-shared-an-album-track-with-the-world/129839/
Becky Hill - Caution to the Wind https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Po_uyXaNfUE
Bobby Brown - Every Little Step https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0FKzPfsxA4
Charli XCX - Break The Rules https://soundcloud.com/charlixcx/charli-xcx-break-the-rules
Charli XCX - I Want Candy (Transmitter Live) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hj4VG-kOB6M
Chelsea Lankes - Secret http://www.popjustice.com/songs/chelsea-lankes-secret/
Chet Faker - Gold http://moarrr.com/post/94773878465
Ella Eyre - Comeback http://www.popjustice.com/videos/ella-eyre-comeback-lyric-video/129767/
DJ Shadow - Ghost Town https://soundcloud.com/edm/dj-shadow-ghost-town
Goldfrapp - Laurel* http://moarrr.com/post/93904416121
Goldroom - Till Sunrise http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-goldroom-til-sunrise
inc. - Angel https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lMDYDE3Ya28
James Vincent McMorrow - Cavalier (SAFIA cover) http://prettymuchamazing.com/mp3/mp3-safia-cavalier-james-vincent-mcmorrow-cover
Jessie Ware - Say You Love Me http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/new-jessie-ware-say-you-love-me
The Juan MacLean - A Simple Design http://moarrr.com/post/94549384066
Kindness feat. Kelela & Ade - World Restart http://moarrr.com/post/94449722181
KING - Mister Chameleon http://blogs.villagevoice.com/music/2014/08/king_has_come.php
Lemonade - Come Down Softly http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-lemonade-come-down-softly
Lorde - Tennis Court (Flume Remix) http://www.vogue.com/culture/article/song-of-the-summer-future-porter-robinson/#1
Merchandise - Green Lady http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-merchandise-green-lady
Michael Jackson - A Place With No Name http://www.popjustice.com/thenews/a-new-michael-jackson-videos-premiered-via-twitter-and-is-now-online/129889/
Mr Twin Sister - Blush http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-mr-twin-sister-blush
Moonface - City Wrecker http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/new-moonface-city-wrecker
Nao vs. A. K. Paul - So Good* http://www.vogue.com/culture/article/song-of-the-summer-future-porter-robinson/#1
Neon Hitch - Yard Sale http://www.popjustice.com/videos/neon-hitch-yard-sale/129745/
PartyNextDoor - Relax With Me http://www.vogue.com/culture/article/song-of-the-summer-future-porter-robinson/#1
Plastic Plates feat. Sam Sparro - Stay in Love http://moarrr.com/post/94226676059
Puss n Boots - Down By The River (Live) https://soundcloud.com/bluenoterecords/puss-n-boots-down-by-the-river
Röyksopp & Robyn - Monument http://www.popjustice.com/videos/royksopp-robyn-monument/129848/
Ryn Weaver - OctaHate* https://soundcloud.com/rynweaver/ryn-weaver-octahate
Saturday Morning Slow Jams - Darkwing Duck Theme Song http://thedisneyblog.com/2014/08/04/enjoy-classic-disney-and-muppet-cartoon-themes-done-as-90s-rb-slow-jams/
Say Lou Lou and Lindstrom - Games For Girls http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-say-lou-lou-and-lindstrom-games-for-girls
She Keeps Bees - feat. Sharon Van Etten - Owl http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-she-keeps-bees-owl-feat-sharon-van-etten
Stars - From The Night http://prettymuchamazing.com/news/new-stars-from-the-night
Tennis - I’m Callin’ http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-tennis-im-callin
Tinashe - Check In http://www.vibe.com/article/new-music-tinashe-check

Other songs I blogged in the last two weeks

Kimbra - Miracle http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/93986898634/kimbra-miracle-that-chorus-has-mega-hit
Sufjan Stevens - A Little Lost (Arthur Russell cover) http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/94100592624/sufjan-stevens-a-little-lost-arthur-russell
Lil Silva feat. BANKS - Don’t You Love http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/94352434709/lil-silva-feat-banks-dont-you-love-the
Angelo Badalamenti - The Pine Float (from ‘Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me’) http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/94471823439/noir-obsessed-no-84-the-pine-float-by-angelo
Shura - Just Once http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/94667803629/shura-just-once-emotional-80s-pop-inspired
HONNE - Warm on a Cold Night* http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/95133238939/warm-on-a-cold-night-by-honne-wonderful-late

Cheers,
Andrew

Follow me on Twitter @blackdieseluk.

If you missed the last edition, click here.


Black Diesel Radio mini-edition 35.

My highlights of the last fortnight in music.

As usual, you can find links to full-length versions of each song in the latest ‘My Musical Mind’ blog.

[Running time - 10:29]

Follow me on Twitter @blackdieseluk.

Previous Edition


Even if we could turn back, we’d probably never end up where we started.
Haruki Murakami, 1Q84  (via bookmania


"Warm On A Cold Night" by Honne. 

Wonderful late night jam. 


dshalv:

sams-film-stills:

Lost in Translation (2003) Dir. Sofia Coppola

Love how space, stillness and quietness are used in this film. Gorgeous storytelling.

(via bookishbelle)


devidsketchbook:

LIGHTS ON

(New York City, 2013-2014)

Photographer Franck Bohbot  previously )

( via: ryanpanos )

(via noirbynight)


deantrippe:

Hell of a pretty galaxy.

(via sortofmine)