nubbsgalore:

photos by matt smith from the Illawarra coast in new south wales of bluebottles, violet snails and blue dragons. 

despite its resemblance to the jellyfish, the bluebottle is more closely related to coral. known as a zooid, the bluebottle (or portugese man of war) is a colonial animal composed of many highly specialized and physiologically integrated individual organisms incapable of independent survival. 

the blue dragon — a type of nudibranch, here no larger than a thumbnail, with its own potent sting — is able to eat the nematocysts (stinging cells) of the bluebottle without discharging them and internally relocate them to the tips of each one of the fingers you can see in the pictures.

for their part, the violet snails also feed on the bluebottles.

notes matt, “despite their potentially dangerous sting, the bluebottle is an amazingly beautiful creature. with strong winds, hundreds of these cnidaria are blown into the bays around my home town and trapped overnight.”

this allows him to capture the above shots, which he creates with use of a fluorescent tube in his strobe light and a homemade waterproof lens dome.

(via bookoisseur)


Cassie Steele: “Dreams”. 

Some kind of wonderful. 


kitschgirl65:

City night sidewalk shoes lights late night

kitschgirl65:

City night sidewalk shoes lights late night

(via noirbynight)


Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross: “Just Like You” (from ‘Gone Girl’). 

Brilliant. Just like the movie. 


My Musical Mind (01/10/14)

feat. music from Prince, Kendrick Lamar, Lorde, Jessie Ware, Tinashe, Trent Reznor, Stars, Cibo Matto, Tegan & Sara, Tove Lo and loads more.

Welcome to my musical mind. Where fifties swing meets noughties electronica. Where blues, rock, latin, funk, hip-hop, pop, country, jazz and southern fried soul will all be given a workout. Eclectic is the watch word. Embrace the chaos kids.


Ambrosia Parsley & The Elegant Too - Rubble http://vimeo.com/69265309
BANKS - Beggin’ For Thread (Bag Raiders Remix) http://moarrr.com/post/98426455472
Beatrice Ali - Moment of Clarity http://www.popjustice.com/songs/beatrice-eli-moment-of-clarity/
Cibo Matto - Déjà Vu https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5NSGWj29BFE
Drake - Worst Behavior (Saint Pepsi Remix) http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-drake-worst-behavior-saint-pepsi-remix
Elliphant feat. MØ - One More http://prettymuchamazing.com/news/listen-mo-collaborates-elliphant-one
Holly Johnson - In and Out Of Love (Douze Remix) http://moarrr.com/post/98302698844
Jessie Ware feat. Miguel - Kind Of…Sometimes…Maybe http://www.popjustice.com/thenews/jessie-wares-shared-a-new-song-with-the-world/130851/
Kendrick Lamar - i http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/recd-kendrick-lamar
Les Sins feat. Nate Salman - Why http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-les-sins-f-nate-salman
Lorde - Yellow Flicker Beat (from ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1) http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/new-lorde-yellow-flicker-beat
Night Terrors of 1927 feat. Tegan & Sara - When You Were Mine http://www.popjustice.com/thenews/theres-a-new-tegan-sara-song-online/130982/
The Preatures - Somebody’s Talking http://prettymuchamazing.com/videos/video-preatures-somebodys-talking
Prince - Funknroll http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M9R1E4y7_Js
Stars - No One Is Lost http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-stars-one-lost
Tinashe feat. Dev Hynes - Bet http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/listen-tinashe-bet-f-dev-hynes
Tove Lo - Thousand Miles http://www.popjustice.com/songs/tove-lo-thousand-miles/
Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross - Just Like You (‘Gone Girl’ Soundtrack) http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/trent-reznor-atticus-ross-share-three-songs-gone-girl-soundtrack
The Weeknd - Often (White Sea Remix) http://prettymuchamazing.com/music/white-sea-duets-weeknd-remix-often
Zara Larsson - Rooftop http://www.popjustice.com/songs/zara-larsson-rooftop/

Other songs I blogged in the last two weeks

Annie - Anthonio [Berlin Breakdown Version] (from ‘The Guest’) http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/97682000969/annie-anthonio-berlin-breakdown-version-from
Octave Minds feat. Chance The Rapper & The Social Experiment - Tap Dance http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/97967503419/octave-minds-feat-chance-the-rapper-the-social
Ariana Grande feat. The Weeknd - Love Me Harder http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/98054712984/ariana-grande-feat-the-weeknd-love-me
Jhené Aiko - Eternal Sunshine http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/98245040504/jhene-aiko-eternal-sunshine-pre-order-souled
Jessie Ware - Want Your Feeling (Live at the Barbican) http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/98420271849/jessie-ware-want-your-feeling-live-at-the
Fiona Apple - Paper Bag http://blackdieselcinema.tumblr.com/post/98651934474/hypem-fiona-apple-paper-bag-unapologetic

Cheers,
Andrew

Follow me on Twitter @blackdieseluk.

If you missed the last edition, click here.


Haven’t been on a computer since Monday, so only just watched this, but PTA’s ‘Inherent Vice’ looks wonderful. 



hypem:

Fiona Apple - Paper Bag

Unapologetic songwriting

- BANKS


wolverxne:

New York 2014 - by: { SamAlive } | [Follow on Tumblr]

(via inthetestchamber)


Jessie Ware: “Want Your Feeling” (Live at the Barbican). 

Love. Bodes extremely well for the new album.